Finding Her Edge

Finding Her Edge

Heyy and welcome to ‘diaryofanoverthinker’. Today I’ll be sharing my thoughts on Finding Her Edge (yes, I know it came out forever ago, but I only watched it this week… so here we are 😅). So sit back, relax and enjoy me crashing out about her picking wanna be Jere.


Overall Plot

Before I get into the whole love triangle and how she chose the wrong guy, I want to talk about the plot in general, because I genuinely enjoyed all the side plots in these type of shows/books.

I want to start by saying this is the first time, in a sports romance (book or series), that I actually paid attention to or felt invested in the sport itself. I mean, figure skating is such a random sport, but I was genuinely into it.Like i took their loss at qualifiers personal guys(I full on crashed out)

Then there’s the whole “mum being dead” storyline and the dad not being able to keep things the same since, yeah, it’s cliché, sure, but it was still good. Even though that trope shows up a lot, each version is always slightly different, and that’s why I still enjoy it.I mean the dad was rage bait on a new level butttt shamee.

Now for Elise, because I have so many mixed emotions about her. She was definitely problematic, but at the same time, I understand where she was coming from. She 100% did Weston dirty more than once (and he was a sweetieee), but I get why she was jealous of Adriana. And if I’m being honest, their dad put WAY too much pressure on her, so it all kind of adds up.

That being said, I don’t agree with a lot of what she did. I do think she had some character development, though, and she’s the type of character I have a love-hate relationship with. However, her being with Braydon and then kissing Freddie was VERY unnecessary.

Also, as much as I’m not Team Freddie, can I just say the whole “they couldn’t dance together anymore because he didn’t grow fast enough” thing was ridiculous. Like, seriously… what even was that?Like guys he was a kid, what did you expect...

I also liked how they gave his character some depth with the whole situation with his mum, and I really hope we get more of that, or that they explore that storyline a bit more. (Or at least that there’s more of it in the book, which I'm going to start after i write this .)

Then the whole ending where Braydon and Riley are partners now like that was an insane ending and I NEEEED season 2 after that(or I'll just read the second book).


Brayden Elliot

Okay, so I’m going to be honest at first, he was really annoying me. Like, he was just ugh. And I really loved Adrianna in the first few episodes, sooo…

Although I have to admit, in the first episode I kind of shipped him with Elise, but I changed my mind the second they had that whole dance on the train (and can I just say, that song has been stuck in my head all week).

Okay, now this might get me some hate, but guys, hear me out. Everyone keeps saying he changed for her, but I actually think he changed for his sport. He genuinely cared about it, it was his only shot and the condition to that was him behaving. Then when he fell for her, it just gave him another reason to take life seriously and behave.

Like… come on, even when he was being rude and cocky, it was because he wanted to get to Worlds. He cared about his sport, and he needed a good partner.Like guys I know the main plot was the love triangle but the characters do have some depth and are actually capable of caring about other things.

Not to mention, I don’t even get the whole “bad boy” label. Like, okay sure he didn’t like the press, so he came across as rude to them and to some of the coaches. But they also made him sound like some kind of player, and he really wasn’t.

I mean, he was only ever with Elise that one time and he even said goodbye to her and got her flowers. A real player would’ve just left, like it wasn't even that deep . Then there was Adrianna, and that’s it. So what even?

And honestly, he wasn’t just rude to the press for no reason, he actually had valid reasons for acting the way he did.


Freddie

Okay, so I have to admit, when I started the show, I knew she was going to pick Freddie. I knew he was the whole childhood friend trope, so I kind of paid extra attention to him. From the first episode, I was still kind of Team Freddie, and like I said, I shipped Braydon with Elise.

But then he started to piss me off, because one second he was nice and the next he was just mad like, what even?Not to mention he looks a like a brunette Jeremiah Fisher and that just no.

I mean, I do like the childhood friends trope, but the thing is, they barely had any scenes together. I don’t know, I just didn’t see it.

I actually saw a TikTok saying Adrianna chose him because he was familiar and kind of mistook that for still having feelings for him and honestly, I really agree with that. It just makes sense.


Braydon and Freddie

Can I just say they had so much potential to be really good friends, and the fact that that’s basically ruined now really pisses me off.Especially since its over a girl...like it just makes it worst

Like that scene where they were locking up the rink and the hockey players were there, or when they were just trauma-dumping in the middle of the night in the gym. Even when Braydon paid for lunch with his mum and kept his secret, it’s just like… they had potential, guys.

Not to mention, the whole dancing scene was hella funny. And let’s be real, all guys act a little well uh zesty with their best friends, so they really had potential.

Like Freddie had more chemistry with Braydon than Adrianna ...


So yeah, that’s all my thoughts on the show. I genuinely enjoyed it like, I actually think it’s WAY better than The Summer I Turned Pretty, because that show honestly felt like pure rage bait. I don’t even know why I kept watching it.

This, though, is one of the best love triangle book adaptations I’ve seen, and I absolutely loved it. Hopefully it doesn’t get ruined in later seasons.

Anywayss I hope you enjoyed todays blog,

until next time

Byeee<333